Hello Kitty pixel blanket

{ crochet patchwork } That’s what I call this blanket. I can’t believe how long it took for me to discover these pixel blankets but I’m sure glad I did! It was so much fun making this and seeing the image come together bit by bit when I was sewing the squares together.

IMG_0254-1
{ little kitty } It took me 10 months to finish this blanket but I was only working on it on and off and had several other projects on the go at the same time. The blanket consists of 456 squares in total and measures 105 x 140 cm finished. I’m a bit annoyed at myself for using acrylic yarn for this as I really should have made it from better quality wool or cotton. But the reasoning was that I wouldn’t lose too much money if I hated the project and didn’t want to finish it. It was the first of its kind for me after all. I guess acrylic is a non-allergenic and non-itchy material and hopefully durable as well.
image
{ cotton penguin } I have started a new pixel blanket now that Hello Kitty has found its new owner. This time I’m making an even bigger blanket for my son. It will be made out of beautiful Bendigo Woollen Mills cotton and be a penguin when finished.

2 thoughts on “Hello Kitty pixel blanket

Say hello

